Disconnect vs Disable Inventory


Overview

The Disconnect Inventory and Disable Inventory options help you manage the inventory sent to channels. While you can have all updates automated, these functionalities allow you flexibility for special cases where a manual check might be necessary or if you are using third-party software to update your channel listings’ inventory. 


Disconnect from Inventory

Once you enable a product for a channel, Sellercloud consistently updates it with the latest stock quantities. However, there are cases when you may need to pause these automatic updates, for example, if you’re managing your listings through another system or want to avoid overselling during a daily deal. In that case, you can seamlessly disconnect your product from the Inventory updates. Doing so will prevent Sellercloud from sending any new quantity updates to the channel, leaving the last sent quantity intact on the channel.

Client Setting Allow Disconnect Inventory from Channels must be enabled for this workflow. To enable the setting navigate to Settings > Client Settings > General Client Settings.

You can disconnect Inventory individually or in bulk.

Individually

To disconnect a single product from Inventory, navigate to:

  1. Catalog > Manage Catalog > Open a product.
  2. From the Toolbox, select Channels > Select a Channel Properties.
  3. Actions menu > Disconnect From Inventory.
After a product is disconnected, a Connect to Inventory option becomes available in the Actions menu. Re-connecting the product will start sending the aggregate quantity to the channel.

In Bulk

To disconnect multiple products from inventory: 

  1. Navigate to Catalog > Manage Catalog > Select products > Action menu > Disconnect from Inventory.
  2. In the pop-up window, choose your desired channel from the dropdown menu or select All.
  3. Click Update.

You can also disconnect inventory via a Bulk Update by using column headers. Type in the header name based on the channel (DisconnectFromInventoryAmazon for Amazon), and enter True in the column.

To view all items that are disconnected from the channels, go to Catalog > Tools > Disconnected Inventory.


Disable Inventory

When you enable a product for a channel you allow Sellercloud to send inventory and price updates to the specified marketplace. There are cases where Sellercloud will also include product cost or price updates. Navigate to Launch Channel Listings to see more about different channel specifications. 

Disable Inventory, often referred to as Disable for Channel, is the most common way to zero out the inventory of your related channel listing. For all Sellercloud core channels, when a product is not enabled but has an existing listing, an inventory update with a quantity of zero will be sent. However, this does not necessarily apply to plugin integrations, as the logic of the plugin may vary.

For most channels, for example, Amazon and eBay, if the product has an Active Listing, we keep sending automatic inventory updates for a quantity of zero when that product is disabled. 

You can disable products either individually or in bulk.

Individually

To disable a single product for a specific channel:

  1. Go to Catalog > Manage Catalog > Open a product.
  2. From the Toolbox, select Channel Properties.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. In the General panel, uncheck the Enabled box, and click Save.

Alternatively, you can disable a single product for all channels, without having to go to each channel-specific properties page to manually uncheck the enabled boxes. To do that:

  1. Go to Catalog > Manage Catalog > Select your product.
  2. Action Menu > Disable for all Channels.

In Bulk

To disable Inventory for multiple products, navigate to:

  1. Catalog > Manage Catalog > Select products.
  2. Action menu > Enable/Disable for Channel.
  3. In the pop-up window, select your desired channel.
  4. Select Disable, and click Update.

You can also disable inventory with a bulk update using column headers depending on the channel, such as AmazonEnabled for Amazon, and then enter False in the column.


Overview

The Disconnect Inventory and Disable Inventory options help you manage the inventory sent to channels. While you can have all updates automated, these functionalities allow you flexibility for special cases where a manual check might be necessary or if you are using third-party software to update your channel listings’ inventory. 


Disconnect from Inventory

Once you enable a product for a channel, Sellercloud consistently updates it with the latest stock quantities. However, there are cases when you may need to pause these automatic updates, for example, if you’re managing your listings through another system or want to avoid overselling during a daily deal. In that case, you can seamlessly disconnect your product from the Inventory updates. Doing so will prevent Sellercloud from sending any new quantity updates to the channel, leaving the last sent quantity intact on the channel.

Client Setting Allow Disconnect Inventory from Channels must be enabled for this workflow. To enable the setting navigate to Settings > Client Settings > General Client Settings.

You can disconnect Inventory individually or in bulk.

Individually

To disconnect a single product from Inventory, navigate to:

  1. Inventory > Open a product.
  2. From the Toolbox, select Channel Properties.
  3. Actions menu > Disconnect From Inventory > Go.
After a product is disconnected, a Connect to Inventory option becomes available in the Actions menu. Re-connecting the product will start sending the aggregate quantity to the channel.

In Bulk

To disconnect multiple products from inventory: 

  1. Navigate to Catalog > Manage Catalog > Select products > Action menu > Disconnect from Inventory.
  2. From the new window, select the channel or select Disconnect From All Channels.
  3. Click Go.

You can also disconnect inventory via a Bulk Update by using column headers. Type in the header name based on the channel (DisconnectFromInventoryAmazon for Amazon), and enter True in the column.

To view all items that are disconnected from the channels, go to Inventory > Disconnected Inventory.


Disable Inventory

When you enable a product for a channel you allow Sellercloud to send inventory and price updates to the specified marketplace. There are cases where Sellercloud will also include product cost or price updates. Navigate to Launch Channel Listings to see more about different channel specifications. 

Disable Inventory, often referred to as Disable for Channel, is the most common way to zero out the inventory of your related channel listing. For all Sellercloud core channels, when a product is not enabled but has an existing listing, an inventory update with a quantity of zero will be sent. However, this does not necessarily apply to plugin integrations, as the logic of the plugin may vary.

For most channels, for example, Amazon and eBay, if the product has an Active Listing, we keep sending automatic inventory updates for a quantity of zero, when that product is disabled. 

You can disable products individually or in bulk.

Individually

To disable a single product for a specific channel:

  1. Go to Inventory > Open a product.
  2. From the Toolbox, select Channel Properties.
  3. Uncheck the Enabled box, and click Save.

Alternatively, you can disable a single product for all channels, without having to go to each channel-specific properties page to manually uncheck the enabled boxes. To do that:

  1. Go to Inventory > Select your product.
  2. Action Menu > Disable for all Channels > Go.

In Bulk

To disable Inventory for multiple products, navigate to:

  1. Inventory > Select products.
  2. Action menu > Enable/Disable for Channel > Go.
  3. In the new window, choose your desired channel/s.
  4. Select Disable from the dropdown menu and click Update.

You can also disable inventory with a bulk update using column headers depending on the channel, such as AmazonEnabled for Amazon, and then enter False in the column.


Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support